8 Comments
author

I saw a quote yesterday from Brianna Wiest, it said, "Judgement is always a projection of our innermost fears. When we think we are not enough, we try to make someone else even less."

This projection in terms of judging others for things you've outgrown can also be grounded in fear of becoming who you once were. People will shut down when we judge them and not take our advice or listen to the lessons we've learned from once being where they were. This is where thinking before you speak can be such a great asset to help you avoid judging others and instead impart your experienced backed knowledge in a way that is helpful and without judgment.

Expand full comment

I get this way too! It’s painful to see people struggling but difficult when you can see where they could be helped.....and then I remember who am I to decide where someone should be on their journey?

Expand full comment

i sometimes wonder about peoples actions or decisions but i try not to be judgemental

Expand full comment

Great insights Nicole, thank you. I wish I knew them earlier in my life.

I’ve been accused as judgmental from a person really important in my life, which I finally lost.

In retrospect, I reflected on the drivers of my behavior; it’s all about our own insecurities and fears.

I learned so much from this experience; and wanted to add, that sometimes is better to stay silent, and just listen. Give it the time it takes for the other party to return on the matter, ask opinion, participation, or help.

Expand full comment

how are u Kristi

Expand full comment

if i know the person and its usully a family relative or friend i do try to encourage making a postive change in their life

Expand full comment